Book Clubs

"The Originals"

image48

- Meet in the store the first Friday of the Month at 6:30

"The Originals",  as the name suggests, was the first book club to begin meeting in the store. They have been going strong since 2012 and are very welcoming to new members. They read all genres and everyone has a vote for title selections.

July - The Clockmaker's Daughter by Kate Morton

 

 "An ambitious, compelling historical mystery with a fabulous cast of characters...Kate Morton at her very best." --Kristin Hannah

" An elaborate tapestry...Morton doesn't disappoint." --The Washington Post

" Classic English country-house Goth at its finest." --New York Post

In the depths of a 19th-century winter, a little girl is abandoned on the streets of Victorian London. She grows up to become in turn a thief, an artist's muse, and a lover. In the summer of 1862, shortly after her eighteenth birthday, she travels with a group of artists to a beautiful house on a bend of the Upper Thames. Tensions simmer and one hot afternoon a gunshot rings out. A woman is killed, another disappears, and the truth of what happened slips through the cracks of time. It is not until over a century later, when another young woman is drawn to Birchwood Manor, that its secrets are finally revealed.

Told by multiple voices across time, this is an intricately layered, richly atmospheric novel about art and passion, forgiveness and loss, that shows us that sometimes the way forward is through the past. 

August - One Day In December by Josie SIlver

 "Get ready to be swept up in a whirlwind romance. It absolutely charmed me." --Reese Witherspoon

"Josie Silver writes with a warmth so palpable her characters sneak their way into your heart and stay for a long time."--Jill Santopolo, New York Times-bestselling author of The Light We Lost

Two people. Ten chances. One unforgettable love story.

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist anywhere but the movies. But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man who she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic...and then her bus drives away.

Certain they're fated to find each other again, Laurie spends a year scanning every bus stop and cafe in London for him. But she doesn't find him, not when it matters anyway. Instead they "reunite" at a Christmas party, when her best friend Sarah giddily introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie. It's Jack, the man from the bus. It would be.

What follows for Laurie, Sarah and Jack is ten years of friendship, heartbreak, missed opportunities, roads not taken, and destinies reconsidered. One Day in December is a joyous, heartwarming and immensely moving love story to escape into and a reminder that fate takes inexplicable turns along the route to happiness. 

September - Woman in the Window - by A.J. Finn

 

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, published in forty-one languages around the world and in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

October - The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

 

"Deliciously duplicitous. . . . equally as twisty, spellbinding, and addictive as Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl or Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train."--Library Journal (starred review)

Amber Patterson is fed up. She's tired of being a nobody: a plain, invisible woman who blends into the background. She deserves more--a life of money and power like the one blond-haired, blue-eyed goddess Daphne Parrish takes for granted.

To everyone in the exclusive town of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut, Daphne--a socialite and philanthropist--and her real-estate mogul husband, Jackson, are a couple straight out of a fairy tale.

Amber's envy could eat her alive . . . if she didn't have a plan. Amber uses Daphne's compassion and caring to insinuate herself into the family's life--the first step in a meticulous scheme to undermine her. Before long, Amber is Daphne's closest confidante, traveling to Europe with the Parrishes and their lovely young daughters, and growing closer to Jackson. But a skeleton from her past may undermine everything that Amber has worked towards, and if it is discovered, her well-laid plan may fall to pieces.

With shocking turns and dark secrets that will keep you guessing until the very end, The Last Mrs. Parrish is a fresh, juicy, and utterly addictive thriller from a diabolically imaginative talent.

Saturday Morning Book Club

image49

Meets 3rd Saturday of each month at 9:30 AM

New members always welcome!!


July - City Of Light by Lauren Belfer

 City of Light

The year is 1901. Buffalo, New York, is poised for glory. With its booming industry and newly electrified streets, Buffalo is a model for the century just beginning.

Louisa Barrett has made this dazzling city her home. Headmistress of Buffalo's most prestigious school, Louisa is at ease in a world of men, protected by the titans of her city. But nothing prepares her for a startling discovery: evidence of a murder tied to the city's cathedral-like power plant at nearby Niagara Falls. This shocking crime--followed by another mysterious death--will ignite an explosive chain of events. For in this city of seething intrigue and dazzling progress, a battle rages among politicians, power brokers, and industrialists for control of Niagara. And one extraordinary woman in their midst must protect a dark secret that implicates them all... 

   

Other Area Book Clubs

image50

Mambrino King Main St. East Aurora

Mambrino King Wine Coffee and Chocolate Bar (Main St. East Aurora) - Read Wine Book Club - meets the first Monday of the Month at 6:30. Please contact Mambrino King at 716-714-9293 for more information or Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/MambrinoKingWineCoffeeBar/

Purrfect Tea on Main St East Aurora

Purrfect Tea on Main St. East Aurora has a Book Club that meets every other Friday. Please contact them at 716-655-1044 or check their Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/purrfecttealounge/

Roycroft Book Club

Roycroft Book Club Info:

Please contact The Roycroft for times and location.

June - The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

August - The Dinner List by Rebecca Serk

October - The LIbrarian Book